Why I’ve Been Using Punctuation Emojis

It’s been a while since I’ve written a blog post, and I can thank blame exams for that. In all honesty, I wrote my last exam two weeks ago, but since then I’ve been catching up on everything I missed (partying, socializing, work – you can tell that my priorities are obviously in order from the way I listed that.)

Sadly, the partying lifestyle has gotten the better of me, as I now lay in bed with a blocked nose and fever, reminiscing about the times I didn’t have to be a mouth breather.

The upside is that I finally found some time to write again, and I decided to address an issue that many people may have been wondering about me. See, if you’ve received a message from me anytime in last 3-4 months, you may have noticed something strange. Your thoughts were most likely along the lines of: “Can’t she use normal punctuation?”, “Why is she so extra?”, “Who even uses those?”, “Why were these emojis even invented?!”

Let me explain.

A few months ago, the entire left portion of my touch screen stopped working. This means I am unable to press the little button on the bottom left corner of the keyboard, the one that has “123” written on it:

iphone-keyboard

I also cannot press the letters ‘a’ and ‘q’ but thankfully autocorrect helps in that regard. I’ve had a long, strenuous time trying to get used to this difficulty and life-challenging setback. It was only after this complication that I realized I have taken punctuation for granted. *extra*

But seriously, try living without a comma or brackets. It killed me. 😦

The only one that stuck with me is the period (which appears when you press the space bar twice or after every 28 days ……….. LOL, my jokes are lame).

Anyway, I eventually found these emojis that have kinda saved my day:

keyboard1

keyboard2

As you can see – they are not ideal. My alternative is to turn my phone on its side and use the keyboard in landscape mode. However, there isn’t enough time in the world for that so I reserve it for important texts only – to my bosses or for emails.

It has been a struggle, an actual first-world problem, but now I finally have the time to get rid of this ordeal. Wish me luck 😆

And to those of you who continue to text me, bearing through the pain of reading my cartoon-like messages, I’d just like to thank you from the bottom of my heart. You’re the real MVPs ❤

And if you have come this far, thank you for reading this! 😀

Tazz xx

One thought on “Why I’ve Been Using Punctuation Emojis

  1. Sameer Seetaram says:

    This is the definition of a first-world problem haha, but a problem nonetheless.
    They do say that punctuation saves lives and it’s true, example:
    “Let’s eat, grandma” and “let’s eat grandma” mean completely different things 😂 So it can be dangerous not having the left portion of your screen functioning as it should.
    But there are a few things to be thankful for here. Firstly, to the whatsapp developers for creating those emojis for people who want to be ‘extra’, in your case, just helping a sister out. Secondly, thank you, Tazz Badat, for bringing it to our attention that these emojis actually exist haha and lastly, thanks for the entertaining read.

    P.S here are some normal punctuations for you to copy and paste for when you need it, just in case.
    , ? ! ‘ ” @ ( ) ; – / * # %
    0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

